October 30, 2020

First Mobility Awards hails Pasig, San Juan, Marikina as most bike-friendly cities in NCR

Groups also honor bike riders and bike-friendly malls, offices

METRO MANILA, 29 October 2020 – Pasig, San Juan, and Marikina are the most bicycle-friendly cities in Metro Manila, according to organizers of the first ever Mobility Awards, while the SM Mall of Asia, SM Marikina, and Bonifacio High Street were judges as the most bike-friendly commercial establishments in the metro.

“I’m very honored that San Juan has been chosen for this, and it gives me a lot of added inspiration to continue making San Juan bike-friendly,” said Mayor Francis Zamora who accepted the Gold Award in a recorded message. He mentioned their local government’s installation of dedicated bike lanes and new LED lights on sidewalks, and passing of bike safety ordinances. He also announced that a solar-powered bike stop is in the works in San Juan.

“I also bike every day. It’s part of my daily routine to join the police bike patrols, to go around the city, because you see your city in a new perspective when you ride a bike. It helps me see the needs of our constituents,” Mayor Zamora added.

The Mobility Awards was launched last month by the Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities, MNL Moves, The Climate Reality Project Philippines, and 350 Pilipinas. The inaugural round focused on cycling in Metro Manila in recognition of the 88 percent of households here and in the Greater Manila Area which do not own cars, according to a 2015 study by the Japan International Cooperation Agency.

“The 88 percent should be the priority, not the 12 percent who have at least one car. Local leaders with the private sector should promote active mobility, or walking and cycling, and improve public transport for the majority,” according to the organizers.

“This is just the beginning for Pasig. Through this, we hope to inspire and collaborate with others to build more sustainable and inclusive cities,” said Robert Anthony Siy, head of the Pasig Transport Office, who accepted two Gold Awards, one in behalf of the city government for being a top Bike-Friendly City, and another for the Transport Office itself as a top Bike-Friendly Workplace.

The Government Service Insurance System branch in Pasay City and The Medical City Ortigas were also given Gold Awards for Bike-Friendly Workplaces.

The Embassy of Netherlands and Mr. Rolly Sol Cruz have announced they will be adding prizes for Padyak Awards winners, or outstanding bike delivery riders and couriers who count as our frontliners amid the pandemic. The winners are Mr. Joy Habana of GrabFood, Ms. Maria Gepayo of Foodpanda, and Mr. Sebastian Cantero of Padyak Padala. Padyak disntinction awards were also given to Mr. Jonnel Tomlod of Foodpanda, Mr. Ernest John Mediana of GrabFood, and Mr. Helbert Ariola of Gofer.

The panel of judges for the most bike-friendly cities, establishments, and workplaces, as well as for the Padyak Awards, is composed of Maria Golda Hilario of the Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities, Aldrin Pelicano of MNL Moves, Nazrin Camille Castro of The Climate Reality Project Philippines, Chuck Baclagon of 350.org Pilipinas, and Jaramia Armanani of the Pinay Bike Commuter Community. For more information on the nomination process and criteria, visit mobilityawards.ph.


Below is the full list of winners of the first round of the Mobility Awards:

  2. Most Bike-Friendly Cities
  3. Pasig (Gold)
  4. San Juan (Gold)
  5. Marikina (Silver)


  1. Most Bike-Friendly Commercial Establishments
  2. SM Mall of Asia (Gold)
  3. SM Marikina (Gold)
  4. Bonifacio High Street (Silver)


  1. Most Bike-Friendly Workplaces
  2. PasigTransport (Gold)
  3. Government Service Insurance System, Pasay City (Gold)
  4. The Medical City, Ortigas (Gold)



Padyak! Power to the People Awards winners (for outstanding cyclist riders)

  1. Mr. Joy Habana, GrabFood
  2. Ms. Maria Gepayo, Foodpanda
  3. Mr. Sebastian Cantero, Padyak Padala


Padyak! Distinction Awards winners (for more outstanding cyclist riders)

  • Makatao Award: Mr. Jonnel Tomlod, Foodpanda
  • Masikap Award: Mr. Ernest John Mediana, GrabFood
  • Maasahan Award: Mr. Helbert Ariola, Gofer


People’s Choice Award winners (with the most number of votes)

  • City: City of Manila
  • Workplace: Government Service Insurance System, Pasay City
  • Establishment: SM Mall of Asia


Padyak Top Fans

  • Most number of Mobility Awards Facebook page likes, shares, and comments: Jose Divina and Paul Martinez/Juan Padyak
  • Most submissions of nominations: Madel Marfil

CONTACT: Denise Fontanilla, [email protected], +63 917 851 4890