Climate Action Rhode Island (CARI), the Rhode Island affiliate of, is proud to announce its enthusiastic endorsement of nine candidates for executive and legislative office in Rhode Island.

The climate crisis poses an existential threat to humanity and Rhode Island in particular, and our survival depends on taking bold action. CARI is committed to this action by regularly advocating for legislation in the State House, performing peaceful demonstrations, facilitating public education, and endorsing political candidates. We make endorsements based on the candidate’s commitment to policies that support renewable energies, ratchet down carbon emissions, and move our society towards an environmentally sustainable future.

The nine candidates who CARI has endorsed for the 2018 Primary are:

  • Matt Brown for Governor

  • Aaron Regunberg for Lt. Governor

  • Jeanine Calkin for RI Senate, District 30 Warwick, incumbent

  • Laufton Ascencao for RI House, District 68 Bristol/Warren

  • Marcia Ranglin-Vassell for RI House, District 5 Providence, incumbent

  • Justine Caldwell for RI House, District 30 East Greenwich

  • Sam Bell for RI Senate, District 5 Providence

  • Terri Cortvriend for RI House, District 70 Middletown/Portsmouth

  • Paul Roselli for RI Senate, District 23 Burrillville/Glocester/North Smithfield

CARI has reviewed the track record of each of the nine candidates and determined that each has a history of driving efforts to fight the climate crisis, and has made protecting the environment against climate change one of their top priorities.

Climate Action RI enthusiastically endorses each of these candidates for elective office, and we believe that each will help lead our state to the forefront of climate action, environmental sustainability, and shared prosperity. We call on Rhode Island voters to volunteer their time in canvassing and GOTV efforts for these candidates leading up to the primary, and just as importantly, urge them to cast their votes on Wednesday, September 12th.


Kendra Anderson, President (Warwick, RI)
Brian Wilder, Politics Committee (Cranston, RI)